top of page

The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra 

The Heart Chakra is the 4th in your energy system. In Sanskrit it’s Anahata. It sits right in the middle of the energy system.  It’s right over your heart, it radiates down to your breastbone and up to your throat. It governs your love and compassion.

The color associated with this chakra is green. The element is Air. The sound is “yam” which you will chant during meditation. The planet is Venus. Yoga poses to help open up your heart will be “chest opening, stretching” such as cat pose, camel pose, cobra pose. Try eating foods that are green. Since this chakra is associated with “air” you will want to breathe deep when you are meditating and visualize green air circulating around  you.

When your chakra is balanced, you are able to express love and compassion. You are giving, joyful and content. You have love your others and for yourself. An imbalanced chakra causes emotions of jealously, selfishness, hatefulness and depression. When you chakra is overactive, you lose personal boundaries and make  unhealthy choices. When it’s under-active you can have trouble getting close to anyone, be out of touch with your body and have a tendency to build walls. Physical symptoms can manifest in the way of circulation problems, fast heart rate or palpitations, heartburn or relationship issues. To balance this chakra, it may take a lot of work. Start by treating yourself well; practice self-care and self-love. Meditate, take relaxing baths, get massages. Spread love and compassion through volunteer work. Show appreciation for yourself and for others. Guilt, regret and shame all plague the heart chakra and can cause greater disease. Antidotes for the problems of the heart are self-love and forgiveness.

Essential Oils to help balance and open your heart chakra are:

  1. Bergamot

  2. Sweet Orange

  3. Ylang ylang

  4. Lavender 

  5. Sandalwood

  6. Jasmine

I have a rollerball pre-made specifically for the heart chakra if you would like to check it out. I recommend essential oils from my shop or from Rocky Mountain Oils – they are affordable and resourced responsibly.

Crystals to help with healing your heart chakra are:

  1. Amazonite

  2. Emerald

  3. Green Flourite

  4. Peridot

  5. Jade

If you are looking for somewhere to purchase quality crystals, check out Energy Muse.

Heart Chakra Affirmation: I love myself. I share this love with others. I live in balance with grace and gratitude.

I hope you find this helpful. Remember that this Chakra is a harder one to heal so give yourself grace as you go through the process. Until next time, Much AromaLove <3


heart chakra

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. My products and posts are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent diseases. They are not a replacement for doctor prescribed treatment and medication. Not intended for use on small children unless otherwise noted. If you are pregnant, nursing or under the care of a physician for chronic issues, please consult them prior to trying any essential oil products. All products/recommendations are for external use only.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page