top of page

The 7 Chakras

The entire universe is made up of energy, this includes your body. This belief comes from many ancient cultures that believed all living things carried a life force inside of them. This includes the human body. They called these energies that move inside of us the chakras. They believed there were 7 main energy centers that make up the chakras. Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that translates to wheel. Prana, or life force, is the energy moving inside of you that is spinning and rotating. It starts at the base of your spine and travels to the top of your head. It is believed that if your chakras are healthy and balanced, they provide the right of energy to every part of your body, mind and spirit. By learning about the chakras, you can become in alignment with the natural energy cycles of your body.

The 7 chakras are as follows:

  1. The Root Chakra: Muladhara

  2. The Sacral Chakra: Svadhisthana

  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

  4. The Heart Chakra: Anahata

  5. The Throat Chakra: Vishuddha

  6. The Third Eye Chakra: Anja

  7. The Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

We will get into each chakra individually and help you to determine if you are balanced or out of balance. Then I’ll give you some methods to balance out any of your chakras that are unbalanced.

The Root Chakra, Muladhara

This is where you need to start when determining if you are out of balance. You will not be able to balance any of your other 6 chakras if your root is not in alignment. This chakra is located at the base of your spine to just below your belly button. It is associated with your day to day survival, your emotional security, your financial security, the ability to take care of ourselves and our responsibilities. If this chakra is not balanced, you cannot fully balance the others. Dig into the this further with the post all about the Root here. 

The Sacral Chakra, Svadhishana

The location of this chakra is below the belly button and includes your sexual organs. This is the home of your creative energy. Your place of self. Your identity as a human and what you do with it, your motivation to enjoy life, your ability to indulge in pleasurable activities. Dig into the Sacral chakra more in this post.

The Solar Plexus Chakra, Manipura 

The location of this chakra goes from your belly button to your breastbone. This is where your self-confidence, your identity, your personal power lives. It’s associated to your personal power, your physical feelings of confidence and wisdom. It’s also referred to as your “Warrior Chakra.” Read more about this chakra here. 

The Heart Chakra, Anahata

This chakra is located right over your heart and radiates down to your breastbone and up to your throat. This chakra is associated with health and healing. It’s where your love, compassion and kindness are empowered. It’s where you house your love for others and for yourself. Get further details on how to balance or energize this chakra in this post. 

The Throat Chakra, Vishuddha

This chakra is located between your collarbone and down to the center your heart and up to the center of your eyes. The chakra governs your communication. To yourself, to others, to source, to higher powers. It’s intended to help you express your highest truths and intentions. If you want to learn more about this chakra being balanced or imbalanced, read the full Throat Chakra post here. 

The Third Eye Chakra, Anja

This chakra is located between your eyebrows and radiates down to your mouth and up to the top of your head. This chakra opens up your mind to information beyond the material world and to the 5 senses. It’s associated to extra sensory perception, intuition or physic energy. Our sense of knowing or higher wisdom, ie: your sixth sense. Think you need to do some work with this chakra, read the entire Third Eye post here. 

The Crown Chakra, Sahasrara

The chakra is located at the top of the head center and radiates down to between the eyes and extends up and outward. This chakra influences our deeper understanding of ourselves beyond the physical or material. Whether we are connecting to another person, to ourselves, or to source, this chakra presides over how that connection is made. The entire crown chakra post can be read here.

This is the general outline of the 7 main chakras. There is so much more information to provide you. Such as how to know if your chakras are out of balance, if they are overactive or under-active. I will give you tips on how to balance and energize them. Keep an eye out for those over the next few weeks. I’ll provide a downloadable PDF reference sheet for each chakra. Until then, if you are interested, I have rollerballs available for each chakra in my shop.

Until next time, Much AromaLove <3


Balance your Chakras through Aromatherapy
The Chakra System
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page